rantingravingserving

Trying not to give a shit, but I'm here venting anyway…

Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle…all the change in my pocket because I work for nickles and dimes. December 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mariah @ 1:15 am
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve been in the holiday spirit since the moment I started cleaning my dishes from Thanksgiving. The month of December, I honestly feel so giving. At the same time, every time I receive a tip (or lack there of), I wonder if I am the only one who realizes that we are days away from Christmas. What’s up with the ten percent tips lately? I mean…last night I was shitted on but this ignorant redneck country family but luckily I got a tip from every table tonight.

I was lucky enough to have my first table be these two old ladies who apparently were on their way to an ugly sweater party …one ordered a half club which comes with a soup. The other lady ordered…just a soup. I knew I had big spenders on my hands, ecspecially when they asked three times to make sure we don’t charge for water, which we obviously don’t. I knew their bill wasn’t going to be high, and I was right: their total bill came to about $13 and then they told me they were going to be on split checks. I got a dollar as my tip…even after I gave the one lady who ordered just the soup an EXTRA cup of soup because she said there wasn’t enough broth in the first one. The customer is always right, right?

I ended up working damn near six hours for a mere $41. Not only that, but my managers need to learn to trust their employees and not criticize EVERYTHING we do. Because apparently they must have something shoved so deep up there and its making them turn into maniacs. Oh! I’m sorry you are on salary and probably made $200 tonight to shine a flashlight under my tables only to scream that I didn’t sweep as good as you would like…because I just spent the last five and a half hours dealing with cranky old stingy motherfuckers, for $41. Get the hell out of here.

I have the next two nights off HOWEVER I will still be updating 🙂 Night!

 

One Response to “Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle…all the change in my pocket because I work for nickles and dimes.”

  1. artisticgeek Says:

    Hi, Just noticed your new blog and I hear ya, I feel for ya. I work about 6 hours per shift (due to physical limitations) and yknow what, my wage is about the same as yours, take home pay after taxes is about $42. I work as a lobby lady at a local Mickey D’s, whoo hoo!, so exciting. Sounds like you aren’t very happy at your job, I’m not either. But with times the way they are, even the best people among us who weren’t rich enough to attend a university might wind up working sucky jobs for nickels and dimes. I know people today think pennies are worthless, rite? But I’m watching those floors and seats for every penny I can get my greedy little paws on! If I find a dime or, great day, a whole quarter I feel like it’s my lucky day! – My managers are mostly idiots as it sounds like yours are. And many customers are creeps or weirdos or just people who seem to hate women. It’s some consolation to know that I am not alone in my frustrations. Best of the best to ya!


Leave a comment