rantingravingserving

Trying not to give a shit, but I'm here venting anyway…

Sick… :( December 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mariah @ 2:18 am
Tags: , , , , ,

SORRY FOR NOT POSTING THE PAST FEW DAYS! I’ve been super sick…probably from working myself to the bone. However, I come bearing news of evil doers in the world:

– The other night (I lose track of the days since I have one IF ANY days off every week) this family of seven comes in. Yes…seven. And they assured me they have like five or six other kids at home (not that they were unsure of how many they had at home…I just can’t remember what they said). Well I am like WOOHOO a party of seven! That means a bill over $100 which means a tip of like $15 or $20 which I was real excited about because it had been a slow night. Well…turns out they had to wait for my booth for about 45 minutes (they originally wanted a table but since the three tables we have that fit seven people were full, they had to wait but got impatient so decided to split themselves into two booths in my section). Well, the one daughter tries to order the salmon which we happen to be out of, and then decides SHE’S NOT HUNGRY ANYMORE. Okay…I still have six others willing to order right? Wrong. Three of the remaining six are children which proceed to order their $4 meals off the kid’s menus. The dad of the clan orders a huge steak…only to grab my manager (physically) and starts screaming that his steak is not cooked right and their is hair in his food. For the record…it wasn’t my hair, it was his hair from the huge rat-tail he had slapping his neck all night as he gobbled and chowed down. Of course he gets his steak taken off the bill and what should have been a $100+ tab turns out to be a $37 and change tab. They then tell me I am the best server they have had at our restaurant, and will definitely request me next time. Please feel free. You were a pain in my ass but I will accept a $12 tip on a $37 tab ANYDAY.
– Tonight, I had three tweens sit in my section. Clearly, two of them were awkwardly dating and the third came along to make things even more awkward for everyone. They annoyed me from the minute I walked up to the table screaming about wanting more free bread and more ice for their waters (of course). Since they all didn’t have mommy or daddy to order their burgers for them, it was a world crisis that NONE of them knew how to order a burger. After spening literally six minutes explaining how we cook our burgers, they all stared blankley and ordered. When it comes time to bring them their bill, the total was like $27. They hand me $30 and I said “Do ya’ll need some change”. “YES MA’AM!”. Shit…of course. After sticking around for an hour and making a mess at one of my tables in my three table section, they left me a crumpled $5. Whatever.

That’s all for tonight…I really need to get some sleep. That is if I can…the boyfriend is snoring my ear off. Night!

 

2 Responses to “Sick… :(”

  1. artisticgeek Says:

    LOL tell your BF to use something like Breathe Right strips, it’s supposed to help!

  2. Nick Says:

    So just because the guy complains, he gets his steak free? Is it that easy? If it is that easy then it is no surprise that people do try to get free food! Given that they weren’t a high revenue table, your manager should have just charged the guy for the steak as it is unlikely the family would come to the restaurant again, and even if they did, they would not spend much.


Leave a Reply

